Analysis of the 2019 Andhra Pradesh Legislative Assembly Election Results in Hindupur Constituency

Nandamuri Balakrishna

Nandamuri Balakrishna
Nandamuri Balakrishna

Party: Telugu Desam Party (TDP)

Votes: 91,704

Percentage: 51.47%

Majority: 17,028

Background: Nandamuri Balakrishna, the current MLA of Hindupur, was born in 1960. He is a well-known South Indian actor and comes from a prominent political family, being the son of Late N.T Rama Rao, former Chief Minister of Andhra Pradesh. He completed his graduation with a Bachelor of Arts from Nizam College, Osmania University.

Shaik Mohammad Iqbal

Shaik Mohammad Iqbal
Shaik Mohammad Iqbal

Party: YSR Congress Party (YSRCP)

Votes: 74,676

Percentage: 41.91%

Background: Shaik Mohammad Iqbal, the opposition leader, was born in 1959. He is a retired police officer and completed his graduation with an MA from S.V College, Tirupati. In the 2019 elections, he represented the YSRCP and secured 74,676 votes.

Akula Umesh


Party: Janasena Party (JSP)

Votes: 4,305

Percentage: 2.42%

Background: Akula Umesh, a candidate from the Janasena Party, was born in 1987. He is a weaver by profession and completed his ITI training in the Department of Employment and Training in 2005. In the 2019 elections, he received 4,305 votes representing JSP.

Difference Table: Nandamuri Balakrishna vs. Shaik Mohammad Iqbal vs. Akula Umesh – Hindupur Assembly Constituency (2019 Elections)

Candidate Party Votes Percentage (%) Majority Votes
Nandamuri Balakrishna Telugu Desam Party (TDP) 91,704 51.47% 17,028
Shaik Mohammad Iqbal YSR Congress Party (YSRCP) 74,676 41.91%
Akula Umesh Janasena Party (JSP) 4,305 2.42%
NOTA None of the Above (NOTA) 1,290

In the 2019 Andhra Pradesh Legislative Assembly election, Nandamuri Balakrishna from the Telugu Desam Party secured 91,704 votes, capturing 51.47% of the total vote share. He won with a majority of 17,028 votes against the opposition candidate, Shaik Mohammad Iqbal, representing the YSR Congress Party (YSRCP), who received 74,676 votes, accounting for 41.91% of the total votes. Akula Umesh, representing the Janasena Party (JSP), received 4,305 votes, making up 2.42% of the total votes. Additionally, 1,290 votes were cast for NOTA (None of the Above) in this constituency.

Nandamuri Balakrishna, known for his acting career, completed his graduation, while Shaik Mohammad Iqbal is a retired police officer with an MA degree. Akula Umesh is a weaver who completed ITI training.

Leave a Comment