Andhra Pradesh’s Anantapur Lok Sabha Seat and Its Leaders

Ananthapur Lok Sabha ConstituencyAnantapur Lok Sabha

Ananthapur Lok Sabha constituency is one of the 25 Lok Sabha constituencies of Andhra Pradesh in India. It comprises seven assembly segments and belongs to the Anantapur district.

Current Representative

Talari RangaiahTalari-Rangaiah

The current representative of the Ananthapur Lok Sabha constituency is Talari Rangaiah. He was elected to the Lok Sabha in the 2019 Indian general election as a member of the YSR Congress Party. He was born on June 3, 1970, in Gosupadu, Kurnool district, Andhra Pradesh. He won with a majority of 141,428 votes against the opposition, securing 51.79% of the total votes.

Talari Rangaiah holds a Doctorate in MA MLISc (PhD) – Master of Arts and Master of Library and Information Science, Doctor of Philosophy.

Opposition Leaders

There are two prominent opposition leaders in Ananthapur Lok Sabha constituency:

J.C Pavan Kumar ReddyJ.C Pavan Kumar Reddy

J.C Pavan Kumar Reddy is the son of J.C Diwakar Reddy, who was a former MLA of Anantapur District. He is associated with the TDP party. Pavan Kumar Reddy’s self-profession is business. He is 46 years old and holds a B.COM degree from Osmania University (year 2003). In the 2019 elections, he received 553,780 votes, accounting for 41.26% of the total votes, but lost to Rangaiah from YSRCP.

D. JagadeeshJagadeesh-D

D. Jagadeesh is associated with the Communist Party. He is the son of D. Thimmappa and a social worker by profession. He is 58 years old and has completed 8th grade. He discontinued his education after 10th grade from S.J.P.H Guntakal, Anantapur district. In the 2019 elections, he received 20,294 votes, accounting for 1.51% of the total votes, and lost to Talari Rangaiah from YSRCP.

2019 Indian General Election Results – Anantapur Constituency

Party Candidate Votes Percentage (%) Difference (vs. Talari Rangaiah)
YSRCP (Winner) Talari Rangaiah 695,208 51.79%
TDP J. C. Pavan Kumar Reddy 553,780 41.26% -141,428
————– ————- ——– ———- ————-
CPI D. Jagadeesh 20,294 1.51% -674,914
Majority 141,428 10.53%
Voter Turnout 1,348,114 81.01%
Swing (YSRCP gain from TDP) +7.78%

Leave a Comment